goodsync reviews

Explore, View, Download files from your desktop computers running GoodSync Connect. Upload files and entire folders from desktop to your device. Our Review of Dropbox. Dropbox is one of the most popular Like most file sync apps, GoodSync keeps two folders in sync with each other. Review of the File Synchronization Tools. GoodSync (GS) is a simple and reliable software for file backup and file synchronization. · 8 best Windows 10 file sync.

Goodsync reviews -

rsync VS GoodSync


rsync is a software application for Unix which synchronizes files and directories from one location...


GoodSync provides highly reliable file backup and synchronization for both individuals and businesses.

rsync Landing Page
GoodSync Landing Page

Rsync Backup on Linux

More videos:

  • - How to Properly Use Cloud Storage Rsync Encrypt Tutorial
  • - Setup OpenMediaVault 5.0 beta NAS on Raspberry Pi 4: RPi4 NAS + Configure RSync with x2 shares OMV5

GoodSync Review - File Sync and Backup Tutorial

More videos:

  • - Goodsync Review
  • - How to backup media (photo / video) - Goodsync Tutorial

Category Popularity

0-100% (relative to rsync and GoodSync)

Reviews

These are some of the external sources and on-site user reviews we've used to compare rsync and GoodSync

rsync Reviews

11 Best Linux Backup Solutions

Rsync is another feature-rich backup solution available for Linux. It allows for incremental backups, update whole directory tree and file system, both local and remote backups, preserve file permissions, ownership, links, privileges, automated scripts and much more. Rsync is a command-line tool but there GUI or frontends such as Grsync available. Rsync is very popular in...

Source: www.linuxandubuntu.com

25 Outstanding Backup Utilities for Linux Systems in 2020

It also has a graphical user interface called Grsync but one advantage with the rsync is that backups can be automated using scripts and cron jobs when used by experienced System Administrators on the command line.

Source: www.tecmint.com

Seven Must Have Open Source Tools For Backup and Recovery

4.RsyncRsync is used for backing up and synchronising the data. Basically it is used for backing up files, which can be configured to synch across the internet to other hosts. Rsync supports mirroring, backup and fast performance. Link – https://rsync.samba.org/download.html

Source: www.interserver.net

GoodSync Reviews

Review of the File Synchronization Tools

GoodSync (GS) is a simple and reliable software for file backup and file synchronization. It automatically analyzes, synchronizes, and backs up your e-mail, precious family photos, contacts, MP3 songs, financial files, and other important files, such as desktops, laptops, servers, external drives, Windows Mobile devices, as well as WebDAV of users remotely via FTP, etc.

Source: source.raysync.io

8 best Windows 10 file sync software

GoodSync backs up and syncs your files between any device or platform without storing them in the cloud. Thanks to the innovative technology it uses, GoodSync offers reliable bi-directional synchronization for all your files.

Source: windowsreport.com

Social recommendations and mentions

Based on our record, rsync seems to be more popular. It has been mentiond 5 times since March 2021. We are tracking product recommendations and mentions on Reddit, HackerNews and some other platforms. They can help you identify which product is more popular and what people think of it.

rsync mentions (5)

  • What are rsync and failovers?
    Https://rsync.samba.org is not only a file transfer tool, but it can synchronize directories locally or over the network using ssh, stunnel or its own protocol(you'll have to run rsync in daemon mode on one of the hosts for that). It can copy/update files that are missing on the target host and (optionally) it can delete files that have been deleted on the source, but are still present on the target. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • MySQL shell: the best tool for your logical backups
    Before we can import the data into a local MySQL instance, we need to download the relevant part of the dump to the local machine. Our import script uses rsync with a set of pre-configured --include and --exclude options under the hood to do that. Overall, we can typically download only about 2 GB of data out of the 23 GB dump. - Source: dev.to / 4 months ago
  • Need programmers advice on a complex project. Is this possible?
    Never used it myself, but I am pretty sure you can do this with syncthing. The other possibility that comes to mind is to use rsync and whatever scheduling facility your OS provides. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Can't get rsync to ignore .git directories
    [email protected]:~/Downloads/rsync$ rsync --version Rsync version 3.1.3 protocol version 31 Copyright (C) 1996-2018 by Andrew Tridgell, Wayne Davison, and others. Web site: http://rsync.samba.org/ Capabilities: 64-bit files, 64-bit inums, 64-bit timestamps, 64-bit long ints, socketpairs, hardlinks, symlinks, IPv6, batchfiles, inplace, append, ACLs, xattrs, iconv, symtimes, prealloc Rsync comes with... - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Need help with data migration and deduplication
    I have also heard people talking about using other programs that have reduplication built in as a way to accomplish this, most notable rsync and also borg backup. These require a bit more confidence in one's skills than I have at the moment for the task at hand. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago

GoodSync mentions (0)

We have not tracked any mentions of GoodSync yet. Tracking of GoodSync recommendations started around Mar 2021.

What are some alternatives?

When comparing rsync and GoodSync, you can also consider the following products

Duplicati - Free backup software to store backups online with strong encryption. Works with FTP, SSH, WebDAV, OneDrive, Amazon S3, Google Drive and many others.

FreeFileSync - Download the latest FreeFileSync 10.4. FreeFileSync is a free open source data backup software that helps you synchronize files and folders on Windows, Linux and macOS.

SyncBack - Backup software for the PC: powerful, easy to use solution for backing up and synchronising files on a local/network drive, the cloud, FTP server and more.

Syncthing - Syncthing replaces proprietary sync and cloud services with something open, trustworthy and...

Acronis True Image - Full Image Backup, Cloning & Data Protection for Windows & Mac.

Dropbox - Online Sync and File Sharing

User reviews

Share your experience with using rsync and GoodSync. For example, how are they different and which one is better?

Post a review

NinjaOne provides remote monitoring and management software that combines powerful functionality with a fast, modern UI. Easily remediate IT issues, automate common tasks, and support end-users with powerful IT management tools.

featured

Do not miss the top trending startups with our weekly report!

Источник: https://www.saashub.com/compare-rsync-vs-goodsync

For the past couple months, I've had the opportunity to explore Siber System's flagship software suite: GoodSync 9. This software is available for both the Mac and PC operating systems and can be a lifesaver when you're attempting to quickly sync and transfer files between the numerous computers in your home network.

In addition to peer-to-peer backup and synchronization solutions, GoodSync will also allow backups and synchronizations to the most popular cloud drives such as Amazon Cloud, Microsoft SkyDrive, and Google Drive.

This amount of versatility is tough to come by as new capabilities are constantly becoming available, but in this case, GoodSync seems to do a good job "keeping up with the Joneses" in terms of the latest in cloud computing.

You are best off with GoodSync if you are already familiar with other FTP programs, such as WS-FTP and Filezilla. In both the Mac and PC versions, the GUIs (Graphic User Interfaces) are very similar. If you are comfortable with GUI-based FTPs, I'd say you're golden. However, if you are new to the remote transfer/backup/sync world, you will need to work very carefully with the online documentation. The documentation is good and will easily walk you through the setup process.

When the software first opens, it will request you set up a GoodSync account. This is required. Then you will be prompted to set up your first sync/backup job. This seems to work pretty easily for the home folders, but be prepared to do a little work when selecting the remote location.

Do You Want to Sync with Another Computer?

*____*While it's very hands-off once it's all set up, you need to do some fancy dance steps to set up direct syncing between two computers in your home network. The good news is that one GoodSync account is good for multiple computers. If you use GoodSync Connect for your computers to sync with each other, you need to login to a GoodSync account.

What this does is establish a duplicate set of files at GoodSync's own servers. I've found this method to work more efficiently, I'm not quite sure why.

I'm taking advantage of GoodSync to backup the pictures that I first upload to my MacBook.

Do You Want to Sync to a Cloud Service?

I actually have been more pleased with GoodSync for its ability to sync to a cloud drive. I have files scattered all over the cloud world, it seems. Therefore, I had the opportunity to sync with Microsoft SkyDrive, Amazon Cloud AND Google Drive. I also was able to use this to schedule FTP jobs to my personal website's cloud storage.

Syncing to a cloud service seems easier and more straightforward than the Peer-to-Peer service, from what I've experienced. If you select one of the cloud services as your origin or destination, you are simply presented with the login and password screen. Log in and you're good to go for choosing a folder to or from which to sync, or you can even create a new folder on the cloud.

In any case, once you select the origin and destination folders, you select "Analyze" to view a map of your file system. Then if you're happy with the mapping, you select "Sync" to begin the transfer job.

Some notes about GoodSync's services:

  • You can perform multiple backup/sync jobs. If you choose the free version, you're restricted to only 3 jobs at a time. The only time the simultaneous syncing might have a problem is if you are attempting more than one job that might involve the same folder. Then the jobs will run in series.
  • Feel free to schedule periodic sync jobs to automatically run. You don't have to keep the software open to do this. The software will work with your calendar settings to open the program, perform the analysis and syncing, then close.
  • If you schedule sync jobs, the scheduling options seem rather complicated to me. You can easily schedule for frequencies up to 24 hours, but to do weekly or monthly sync jobs you have to add "rules" to your calendar. I'm reminded of how you set up "Out of Office" rules in Outlook. For my MacBook, the job will be put into your iCal application.
  • GoodSync allows sync/backup jobs in both directions. If you work day-to-day with Google Drive, you can choose to run a backup job to your PC hard drive.
  • The support services seem well done, with good documentation within the software, and an opportunity to easily submit a trouble ticket through the Help menu. I haven't needed it yet.
  • If you do need help, be prepared to get used to "left vs. right" terminology. The software works very carefully to treat the "left" side of the window as the original file and the "right" side as the variable. Even in synchronization jobs, if the left side has a deleted file, the software will delete it on the right.
  • Syncing through GoodSync seems much much faster than other backup methods that I've tried, from Time Machine to manual file transfers from my MacBook to my network attached storage device. I synced about 5 GB of photographs in 10 minutes, compared to well over an hour through manual means.

I am pleased with GoodSync, but I am a user who is accustomed to FTP GUIs and even command line FTP. I recommend it for any user who has a hodge podge of files scattered everywhere that he/she would like to have better organized.

You can download GoodSync 9 by Siber Systems free of charge with a 30 day trial before it reverts to a limited utility version (such as a 100 file per day transfer limit). Upgrade to the Pro version for a much more versatile suite of capabilities. GoodSync 9 Pro is available for PCs for $29.95 and Macs for $39.95. One license is required per computer.

GoodSync provided me with complimentary Mac and PC licenses for purpose of this review.

Источник: https://www.wired.com/2013/02/goodsync-review/

GoodSync Pro (for Mac)

Siber Systems, makers of the well-known RoboForm utility, have also been in the folder syncing game since 2006, with its GoodSync utility. Recently, the company has expanded its sync-and-backup offerings with a solid version. The $29.95 program (available as a digital download) lets users sync photos, music, videos, and other data between devices, and back up entire hard drives. GoodSync Pro even provides real-time monitoring, and its automatic mode enables it to run without user intervention. GoodSync is a decent backup solution, but the single computer installation limitation may not sit well in multi-PC households that don't want to shell out additional money for extra licenses. It also doesn't back up to cloud storage, as with other options, such as (3.5 stars, starting at $5 per month) and the Editors' Choice award-winning backup solution (starting at $9.95 per month).

GoodSync Pro Setup and Interface
Upon first launching GoodSync Pro, you're presented with a welcome screen that prompts you to create a backup or synchronization job. Right off the bat, the "job" terminology marks this as a corporate app, rather than a consumer-friendly one, and that impression continued during my testing. Clicking on "Create My First Job!" opens a dialog box that lets you specify the job type that you'd like to set up: Two-way synchronization, or backup. Selecting backup gives you the option to select Forced Copy or Verified Copy, but GoodSync Pro doesn't provide a description of what they do on that screen. Instead, you have to go to the toolbar and then click Help>Manual to learn the difference, which is a bit of an inconvenience.

As it turned out, the manual wasn't very helpful as it stated that Forced Copy "enforces the backup scenario," and that Verified Copy "makes sure that no changes were made to the right (backup) side, as one does not expect backup side to change." I was left scratching my head. On top of that, the online FAQ located at www.goodsync.com/mac/support/faq is for the Windows version—not at all useful. On the other hand, I liked the ability to name the job, which came in handy when creating multiple jobs.

After selecting a new job type, you're taken to GoodSync Pro's main screen (which features a jobs pane and two folder panes) where you complete the job setup. By selecting "Please, select folder," in the left folder column (the column, which represents your computer's hard drive), you'll open OS X file tree, where you select the folder that you wish to backup. Oddly, double-clicking a folder doesn't reveal the content within; you must click the arrow next to the folder name. It's not a huge loss, but as someone used to double-clicking folders to open them, it required an adjustment.

Doing the same in the right column (the destination column) lets you select where you wish the backup to live—I opted for an external flash drive instead of a folder on the Mac's hard drive (you never want to back up to the computers own drive, which would prove fruitless if the hard drive failed). I was happy that this option was available, as well as backing up to a network drive.

Right-clicking a file gives you several additional options such as including/excluding files, deleting files, viewing file properties, and more. The ability to include or exclude files (including file types) from the backup or sync process is my favorite feature, as it let me configure each backup and sync job. It was also simple to automate jobs (a feature also included in MiMedia) by clicking Option>Auto, and setting time parameters for when I wanted GoodSync Pro to kick in (you can set a job to run at time intervals between 1 minute and 23 hours and 59 minutes). You can also set up filters to further fine tune the action.

File Synchronization and Backup
Clicking "Analyze" causes GoodSync Pro to scan the files selected, and identify them. For example, my photo folder, as well as the individual images inside, was accurately tagged as "not seen before" in the left column. The report also displayed the file size, and the date the folder was scanned in the right column. Clicking on "Synchronize" immediately copied the selected folders to the flash drive. All of this information and flexibility comes in handy for tech-heads like myself, but I can easily imagine novices being intimidated by the overabundance of on-screen data. In this regard, a synchronization service such as the Editors' Choice Award-winning (4 stars, free basic account) will appeal to more causal users as all you need to do is place a file into the dedicated Dropbox folder for it to appear elsewhere.

This same process is used for backing up data, but may prove a bit confusing, as there isn't a dedicated backup button—you must click on "Synchronization" to backup data. Green arrows indicate the direction the file will be copied, but you can only backup one computer at a time unlike (3.5 stars, free basic account), which works with up to five computers per license (you can, however, add a second license for $9.95). You can also back up and sync with other PCs on your network, even those that are running Windows—a nice touch in a mixed home or office environment. As there's no cloud element, you can't access files from any Web-connected computer (or share files via links), but you aren't limited to a company's storage tiers—you supply your own. Unlike iDrive, which demands a monthly fee, you simply pay the initial cost and that's that. GoodSync also offers a free version that limits you to three jobs, and 100 files or folders per job. Windows users can use Windows Live Sync to back up any PCs to a SkyDrive online storage account at no charge. SyncMate does the same for Macs, but we have yet to review that in-depth.

Extras
GoodSync Pro also supports high-speed remote backups using WebDAV, FTP, FTPS, and Amazon S3. GoodSync Pro includes a link to an online manual that's quite thorough in describing the application's various features, but some of the descriptions are somewhat dense, and may confuse some users.

Should You Buy GoodSync for Mac?
GoodSync Pro for Mac faces competition from Apple's own Mobile Me and Time Machine, as well as other applications such as Dropbox and SyncMate. It has some limitations compared to those services—namely, the number of computers per license, a lack of a Web component, and potential complexity for novices—but its deep technical information and back up flexibility will appeal to tinkerers more so than the average computer users.

More Backup and Sync Software Reviews:

Источник: https://in.pcmag.com/file-sync-backup/27029/goodsync-pro-for-mac
[Image: goodsync_icon.png]

Overview:

The GoodSync Enterprise Workstation license is the cornerstone of our GoodSync Family of Products, it can operate individually or as a part of a larger system. GoodSync Enterprise Workstation license is required for GoodSync to operate on Windows/Mac desktops and laptops.
GoodSync Enterprise Workstation is a versatile and cost-effective backup and synchronization solution that works with a variety of protocols, cloud services, and storage devices, giving you maximum flexibility, ease of use, and reliability. Workstation can connect all of your local or remote computers and storage devices, including removable or NAS devices, or devices connected through FTP, SFTP, WebDAV or GoodSync Connect.
As a standalone product, GoodSync Enterprise Workstation empowers the user to backup or synchronize local data to another workstation, file server, NAS device or cloud storage in automated, scheduled or real-time mode.
Deployment is fast and simple. And the job setup interface requires little to no effort to master.

Homepage:

http://enterprise.goodsync.com/


[Image: 1_features.png]


Download:

http://enterprise.goodsync.com/download/

Free Trial:

A fully functional 30 day trial, for both GoodSync Server and GoodSync Workstation, is available

Purchase:

[Image: 11_purchase.png]

License:

The number and type of licenses needed for your specific scenario depends directly on the number of devices and the operating system(s) running on those devices.
For most of the scenarios you will use a combination of GoodSync Server and GoodSync Workstation licenses. Both licenses are perpetual (no subscription or renewals) and both are machine based licenses; one license per Server or Workstation.
GoodSync Workstation is licensed for: Windows XP, 7, 8, 8.1, 10, MAC OSX Workstation
GoodSync Server is licensed for: Windows Sever 2003/2008/2012/2016, MAC OSX Server, and all supported Linux/UNIX based Server operating systems.
GoodSync is required to run on each device that is either running a GoodSync Job, or acting as a GoodSync Server as part of your scenario. Each of the scenarios listed above will explain in detail which GoodSync license is required for specific setup.

Backup and Synchronization:

•Synchronization ensures that two folders remain in sync while user may change files on both sides. This is achieved by copying changes that have been made on the left side to the right side and changes that have been made on the right side are copied to the left side.
•Backup is one-way synchronization, that is, the changes that have been made on the left side are propagated to the right side but changes that have been made on the right side are not propagated to the left side.
•GoodSync One-Way Forced jobs enforce the backup scenario.

GoodSync can be used in these everyday scenarios:
  • Synchronize notebook computer to desktop computer via local network.



  • Synchronize folders on two computers not on the same network, via Internet.



  • Keep user files in sync on work and home computer via USB key.



  • Incrementally Backup all files from main hard drive to portable hard drive or another computer.



User Interface:

[Image: main_window.jpg]

The user interface is very friendly and easy to use. The GoodSync Main Window displays a real-time status of your synchronized and/or backed up files. Job tabs across the top allow you to easily organize and view multiple synchronization jobs. Simply click "Analyze" or "Synchronize" to begin your synchronization.

[Image: 2_family.png]

Comparison of Goodsync Enterprise solutions:

[Image: 3_compare_goodsync_sol.png]

http://enterprise.goodsync.com/product-comparison/

Comparison of Goodsync Enterprise versus Personal solutions:

[Image: 4_consumer_vs_enterprise.png]

http://enterprise.goodsync.com/product-comparison/consumer-vs-enterprise

Features:

Basics:

True Bi-Directional Synchronization
One-Way Synchronization Provides an Easy Backup Solution
GoodSync can propagate your file deletions, even through a chain of Syncs.
Deletion Propagation can be turned off for 1-way Backup jobs.
User-Initiated and Real-Time Sync
Block-Level Delta Copy
File and Folder Move/Rename Detection
You can run sync in several threads, working in parallel to achieve faster file transfer speed.
GoodSync can compare files by their MD5 checksum or compare entire file bodies to ensure correct copying.
Selective Syncing: Exclude and Include Filters

Sync Destinations:

Local Machine and Network Folders
P2P between two computers via GoodSync Connect
Cloud Server Folders as Amazon S3, Dropbox, FTP, Google Drive (Docs)
Encryption/Compression Adapters

Sync Algorithm:

No File Monitoring Is Required
File Monitoring Is Used in Real-Time Sync
Lightning Fast Speed, Low Memory Requirement
Chained Synchronization for Multiple Devices
Embedded Jobs Handled
Time Shifts Are Detected And Fixed
File Mod Time Translation For Non-Preserving File Systems

Copying Files:

Encrypt Files At-Rest
Encrypt Files In Transit
Compression in NTFS
Copy Locked Files
Copy Symbolic Links or Drill Down
Copy Attributes and ACL (Access Control List, Owner)
Copy Extended Attributes
Fixing Access Denied Errors
Unix Diff Integrated

User Interface:

Visual Comparison of Folder Trees Made Easy
Slice It and Dice It With Tree Views
Job List Pane as Main Control Panel
Select Multiple Folders to Sync
Select Individual Files to Sync
 You can select specific files to sync, not just the entire folders.
Bookmarks make it easier to get to password-protected servers
You can save any server address and credentials into Bookmark and later use it in a job.
 GoodSync also shows virtual bookmarks, a list of non-repeating credentials assembled from your sync jobs.

Automation:

Sync When Files Change (Real-Time Sync)
Sync When Folder Is Connected
Sync On Timer
Sync On Schedule
Sync When GoodSync Starts
Sync When Windows Logs Off
Logs of Actions and Changes Report
E-Mail Log of Automatic Sync
Speed Limit for File Copy
GoodSync may run job in Unattended mode using Runner service, so your job would run even when computer user is logged off.

Reliability and Robustness:

Automatic Reconnect for Remote Folders
Portable Paths for Removable Drives
Recycle Bin for Deleted/Replaced Files
Free Space Required Predicted
64-bit version, not just 32-bit
HTTP/SSL Network Layer

Fast and Reliable Servers:

GSTP server is used by GoodSync Connect. Was shown to process up to 2,000 transactions per second.
HTML server is developed using GoodSync server technology. was measured to process 300 transaction/second sustained, with minimal processor/memory use.
Custom servers can be built using GoodSync server technology.  

Localization:

User Interface Localization GoodSync application is available in many languages.
Non-latin characters in file and folder names transfer well to servers

Enterprise Data Backup Service:

[Image: 5_enterprise_backup.png]


  • Automated Backup of Enterprise Files and Folders


  • Secure Data Backups for Businesses


  • Server and Workstation Support


  • Backup Locally, Online or to the Cloud


  • Real-Time, Automated, Secure


  • Windows/MAC/Linux Support


Backup of remote Workstations:

For this scenario GoodSync Enterprise needs to be installed on both the workstation and your physical or virtual Server.

Backup of Workstations from Mixed Environments:

For this scenario GoodSync Enterprise needs to be installed on both the workstation and your physical or virtual Server.

Backup of Workstation to another Workstation:

For this scenario GoodSync Enterprise only needs to be installed on your physical or virtual Server.

[Image: 7_backup.png]

Backup of Server Data:

For this scenario GoodSync Enterprise only needs to be installed on your physical or virtual Server.

[Image: 8_remote.png]

Backup of Databases (SQL Server, MySQL, Oracle, DB2, etc):

For this scenario GoodSync Enterprise only needs to be installed on your physical or virtual Server.

Synchronization:

[Image: 6_synchronization.png]



  • Secure Data Synchronization for Businesses


  • Server and Workstation Support


  • Synchronize Data Locally, Online or to the Cloud


  • Real-Time, Automated, Secure


  • Windows/MAC/Linux Support


For this scenario GoodSync Enterprise needs to be installed on both the workstation and your physical or virtual Server.

Synchronization of Workstations over LAN/WAN

[Image: 10_workstation_sync.png]

Synchronization of remote Workstations

Synchronization of Workstations from Mixed Environments

[Image: 9_server_goodsync_synchr.png]

Synchronization of Server Data

Synchronization of Workstation Data

Remote access:



Optimal performance of any business process is conditioned by fast, continues, and secure data flow between all elements in it. Distributed and BYOD workforce changed the traditional business network structure and introduced the need for secure, fast, and uninterrupted remote access.
Traditional remote access tools such as VPN were never designed for highly dynamical business data distribution systems. GoodSync Remote Access Service enables business of any size to setup fast and secure remote access to mission critical data to remote users everywhere.
GoodSync Enterprise offers a universal remote access platform adoptable to any operating system, IT environment, or business process. Allow your remote users to access project files or clients data while still containing full control over data access, changes and security.

·Secure, fast, continues access to your data

·Allow your user access to business data - anytime

·Remote access to data for BYOD and remote users

·View, open, edit and save business data from anywhere

For this scenario GoodSync Enterprise only needs to be installed on your physical or virtual Server.

Remote Access of Server Data

Remote Access of Workstation Data

GoodSync Connect:

GoodSync Connect Account (creation & device registration)

GoodSync Connect allows users to connect two computers directly, in a peer-to-peer fashion, without using intermediate servers that store files.

GoodSync Connect Account (Local Account)

GoodSync Connect allows users to connect two computers directly, in a peer-to-peer fashion, without using intermediate servers that store files.

Server Advanced Options:

Creating and Managing Users in GoodSync Server Advanced Options

Options and Configuration:

[Image: options_general.jpg]

[Image: options_scripts.jpg]

Job Depolyment options:

In a corporate environment, where GoodSync Enterprise is deployed to all client workstations, you can schedule and execute jobs across the entire network by utilizing some basic script mechanisms and/or Group Policy.

Job Status Notification:
GoodSync provides different notification options to help an administrator track the status of your Jobs.

SMTP Server Configuration:

Configured SMTP Server is used to send notification emails to the email address(es) specified in the Post-Sync and Post-Analyze scripts.

GoodSync Connect (GSTP) / Block-Level Copy:

When using proprietary GSTP protocol, GoodSync can do block level copy, moving only those bits of data that have changed across the network. When using protocols like FTP, WebDAV, etc, GoodSync copies the entire file.

Group policies:

Policies are used by system administrator to enforce enterprise-wide rules that limit or change GoodSync behavior.
Policies are available in GoodSync Enterprise only.

Goodsync Connect:

[Image: connect_2.jpg]

GoodSync Connect allows users to connect two computers directly, in a peer-to-peer style, without using intermediate servers that store files.

Conclusion:

Using the combination of our key products, we are able to tailor a custom data backup / synchronization solution to fit the requirements of any project or environment.
thank you for professional full detailed review.great program HeartClapping

Thanks for the well done review Tarek enjoyed reading.

Good review , Tarek  Thumb

Good indepth analysis and review.

Awesome, Tarek. Lol
Posts: 877
Threads: 34
Thanks Received: 0in 0 posts
Thanks Given: 0
Joined: Oct 2015
The Century

Good review tarekma7, thanks

Posts: 1,112
Threads: 124
Thanks Received: 1,011in 528 posts
Thanks Given: 3,793
Joined: Oct 2015
Reputation: 23
The Century
Country: India
what a great review. Enjoyed reading it.  Smile

Good review. Thanks tarekma7

#10

06-02-2016 , 08:36 PM
Thanks for the review Tarek Cool
Источник: https://www.promo2day.com/showthread.php?tid=7635

rsync VS GoodSync


rsync is a software application for Unix which synchronizes files and directories from one location.


GoodSync provides highly reliable file backup and synchronization for both individuals and businesses.

rsync Landing Page
GoodSync Landing Page

Rsync Backup on Linux

More videos:

  • - How to Properly Use Cloud Storage

    GoodSync Install ubuntu from usb windows 10 - Free Activators V11 Review

    GoodSync Personal V11 is awarded best buy

    Review summary

    Good points GoodSync Personal V11 review good points

    • Faster than all the other synchronization software we tested

    • Powerful automation features

    • Great safety measures

    Bad points GoodSync Personal V11 review bad points

    • Does not synchronize or merge Microsoft Outlook files

    • Doesn't support file compression

    Our verdict

    For those who would like a secure program that not only synchronizes your data on multiple machines but can also create secure back-ups, GoodSync is definitely worth trying. This fast, visually appealing and easy to use program provides instant access to your files from virtually any location – and it manages to do this without a heavy burden to your system memory. Though GoodSync might appear slightly intimidating for the novice user, the highly informative step-by-step popup windows will quickly bring you up to speed goodsync reviews the programs functionality and interface. You can choose to sync files directly from machine to machine, to an external drive/server, mobile device or to a remote location using WebDAV, ftp and more. The program supports bidirectional and unidirectional syncing, file filtering and job scheduling but the most impressive part of its design is GoodSync’s analyzer which allows you to view and compare file changes before they are made.

    Screenshot of GoodSync Personal V11 1Screenshot of GoodSync Personal V11 2Screenshot of GoodSync Personal V11 3


    Full review

    Siber Systems has managed to create a practical, smart synchronization tool that looks as good as it functions. GoodSync can transfer/synchronize almost any file locally (by directly syncing between desktops, laptops, servers, and external drives) or it can create back-ups to remote servers and devices using FTP, SFTP or WebDAV - to name a few.

    However, its greatest strength may lie in its analyzer. The Siber Systems’ algorithm is capable of analyzing two files to determine if they are compatible before syncing begins. For example, if you have modified the same file on two different machines and the drafts were vastly different, GoodSync would inform you of an incompatibility issue and not overwrite either file - very handy indeed.

    Setup

    Setting up GoodSync is quick, simple and to the point - creating synchronization jobs are much the same. Once installed, you will be asked to create a new job by selecting the two folders you would like to synch; you can then analyze the folders to avoid incompatibilities. Folders can be set to either create back-ups (one-way) or synchronization which means that changes made in either folder will be synced to both.

    Synchronization

    Along with the usual features such as file filtering, one-way and two-way syncing, back-ups and job scheduling, you’ll also find a few more features that will impress. For example, GoodSync also includes safety measures that ensure files aren’t accidentally overwritten or duplicated and if a file has been changed on two different computers, GoodSync will not change or sync the file in question - instead it will log the discrepancy in goodsync reviews and you will have to manually combine the files. The job “analyze” mode also allows you to view how files will sync before making any changes.

    Back-ups and syncs can be scheduled at specific intervals, to help minimise workflow disruptions, or you can have it do a complete back-up every day. GoodSync can also be set to run whenever a device comes online. Plus the program computes the amount of free space available on the destination device to ensure there is enough room for the files that you are trying to transfer.

    If you are disconnected from a remote device during a sync or back-up, GoodSync will automatically reconnect to complete the transfer. The program can sync with Windows mobile smartphones and is compatible with both 32 and 64 bit Windows operating systems.

    Ease of use

    GoodSync’s current re-designed interface is visually appealing for the experienced user and perhaps slightly daunting for the novice but there are lots of built-in walkthroughs and the GoodSync website has plenty of step-by-step pictorials to help you along the way. Even without these, the system has a very logical flow that anyone with minimal computer experience can easily follow.

    A simple click on the analyze button will allow you to see all of the files that you’ve recently modified or created that need to be synced. Though many synchronization programs tend to place a heavy burden on your RAM, GoodSync is pleasantly light – even on systems running a minimal 500Mb of memory.

    Help & support

    Siber Systems have provided pictorial walkthroughs on their website to help guide you through most common tasks. The FAQs also offer plenty of information covering everything from installation through to synching, though the tutorials section could do with a little more substance.

    If you run into technical issues while using GoodSync, goodsync reviews program has a built-in function to contact technical support and it sends diagnostic information to help technicians resolve the problem more efficiently. Siber Systems only offer web based support at this time which is disappointing and the lack of email and telephone support might put some people off.

    Overall

    GoodSync is offered in two versions, a limited ‘free’ version and ‘Pro’. Though only you can determine which is right for your needs, it should be said that the free version limits your jobs to three and will only support 100 files. It also doesn’t include free upgrades. So, if you have a lot of files, it would be better to buy the Pro version.

    Whichever you may decide to use, GoodSync offers a solid, dependable synchronization option that we believe is definitely worth recommending.


    Looking for sync software reviews?
    See our side-by-side comparisons and in-depth reviews

    Back to top


    Источник: https://www.comparedandreviewed.com/sync-software/goodsync/review

    GoodSync Desktop 9 review

    Working across multiple computers and keeping track of multiple versions of your files can be a troublesome task. GoodSync can synchronise files between a computer and various cloud-based services, as well as between two computers, to help eliminate this problem as well as making sure your files are always backed up.

    The software's simple Windows Explorer-like interface allows you to navigate your existing sync routines quickly and to create new ones. To establish a new sync routine you simple specify the two locations that you want to keep in sync and specify how and when the sync should take place. Any conflicts are highlighted in the main window for each routine, allowing you to choose in which direction a file should be synchronised if at all.

    GoodSync

    the intereface makes it easy to keep track of all your file syncing

    New sync jobs can either be two-way, where data is exchanged in both directions so that changes to the files at either location are mirrored at the other, or one way, which essentially functions as a backup routine, only copying the changes goodsync reviews the first location to the second. The program is mainly designed for one of these locations to be a folder or selection of files on your local hard disk, and the second a remote location. It's also possible to sync to a USB hard disk, then from that disk to a second computer. GoodSync allows you to connect through FTP, SFTP and WebDAV to remote servers as well as to Amazon S3 and Windows Azure cloud services, Amazon’s Cloud Drive and Windows SkyDrive. You can also connect to Windows shares on a network and, using GoodSync Connect, to remote computers.

    GoodSync Connect lets you sync files between remote computers as and when they come online. Both computers must have the application installed, which means that you need to shell out for two licenses (this is true for all syncs between computers). GoodSync Connect works as a peer-to-peer connection so, unlike many cloud-based sync and backup services, storage space is only limited by the size of the hard disk at one location. You will need to keep an eye on your bandwidth usage if you have a limited connection, though. To keep bandwidth usage to goodsync reviews minimum, in all sync routines GoodSync only transmits the parts of files that have been changed rather than the entire file.

    File synchronisation utilities must be handled with care, with potential to keep the wrong version of a file. GoodSync provides clear visual cues when conflicts arise, letting you define which way a file should be synchronised. In addition, versioning control – turned off by default – lets you keep a historic record of file changes, so you can always goodsync reviews windows files manager previous versions to find the right one.

    In an age of monthly fees for online backup, the freedom that GoodSync provides by allowing you to choose your own online location is welcome, particularly when the price of storage on the Amazon S3 service, for example, is pennies rather than pounds per month per GB. While free services like DropBox also allow you to sync files between computers and share those files with others, the versatility of GoodSync is worth the one-off cost.

    Источник: https://www.expertreviews.co.uk/software/51762/goodsync-desktop-9-review

    For the past couple months, I've had the opportunity to explore Siber System's flagship software suite: GoodSync 9. This software is available for both the Mac and PC operating systems and can be a lifesaver when you're attempting to quickly sync and transfer files between the numerous computers in your home network.

    In addition to peer-to-peer backup and goodsync reviews solutions, GoodSync will also allow backups and synchronizations to the most popular cloud drives such as Amazon Cloud, Microsoft SkyDrive, and Google Drive.

    This amount of versatility is tough to come by as new capabilities are constantly becoming available, but in this case, GoodSync seems to do a good job "keeping up with the Joneses" in terms of the latest in cloud computing.

    You are best off with GoodSync if you are already familiar with other FTP programs, such as WS-FTP and Filezilla. In both the Mac and PC versions, the GUIs (Graphic User Interfaces) are very similar. If you are comfortable with GUI-based FTPs, I'd say you're golden. However, if you are new to the remote transfer/backup/sync world, you will need to work very carefully with the online documentation. The documentation is good and will easily walk you through the setup process.

    When the software first opens, it will request you set up a GoodSync account. This is required. Then you will be prompted to set up your first sync/backup job. This seems to work pretty easily for the home folders, but be prepared to do a little work when selecting the remote location.

    Do You Want to Sync with Another Computer?

    *____*While it's very hands-off once it's all set up, you need to do some fancy dance steps to set up direct syncing between two computers in your home network. The good news is that one GoodSync account is good for multiple computers. If you use GoodSync Connect for your computers to sync with each other, you need to login to a GoodSync account.

    What this does is establish a duplicate set of files at GoodSync's own servers. I've found this method to work more efficiently, I'm not quite sure why.

    I'm taking advantage of GoodSync to backup the pictures that I first upload to my MacBook.

    Do You Want to Sync to a Cloud Service?

    I actually have been more pleased with GoodSync for its ability to sync to a cloud drive. I have files scattered all over the cloud world, it seems. Therefore, I had the opportunity to sync with Microsoft SkyDrive, Amazon Cloud AND Google Drive. I also was able to use this to schedule FTP jobs to my personal website's cloud storage.

    Syncing to a cloud service seems easier and more straightforward than the Peer-to-Peer service, from what I've experienced. If you select one of the cloud services as your origin or destination, you are simply presented with the login and password screen. Log in and you're good to go for choosing a folder to or from which to sync, or you can even create a new folder on the cloud.

    In any case, once you select the origin and destination folders, you select "Analyze" to view a map of your file system. Then if you're happy with the mapping, you select "Sync" to begin the transfer job.

    Some notes about GoodSync's services:

    • You can perform multiple backup/sync jobs. If you choose the free version, you're restricted to only 3 jobs at a time. The only time the simultaneous syncing might have a problem is if you are attempting more than one job that might involve the same folder. Then the jobs will run in series.
    • Feel free to schedule periodic sync jobs to automatically run. You don't have to keep the software open to do this. The software will work with your calendar settings to open the program, perform the analysis and syncing, then close.
    • If you schedule sync jobs, the scheduling options seem rather complicated to me. You can easily schedule for frequencies up to 24 hours, but to do weekly or monthly sync jobs you have to add "rules" to your calendar. I'm reminded of how you set up "Out of Office" rules in Outlook. For my MacBook, the job will be put into your iCal application.
    • GoodSync allows sync/backup jobs in both directions. If you work day-to-day with Google Drive, you can choose to run a backup job to your PC hard drive.
    • The support services seem well done, with good documentation within the software, and an opportunity to easily submit a trouble ticket through the Help menu. I haven't needed it yet.
    • If you do need help, be prepared to get used to "left vs. right" terminology. The software works very carefully to treat the "left" side of the window as the original file and the "right" side as the variable. Even in synchronization jobs, if the left goodsync reviews has a deleted file, the software will delete it on the right.
    • Syncing through GoodSync seems much much faster than other backup methods that I've tried, from Time Machine to manual file transfers from my MacBook to my network attached storage device. I synced about 5 GB of photographs in 10 minutes, compared to well over an hour through manual means.

    I am pleased with GoodSync, but I am a user who is accustomed to FTP GUIs and even command line FTP. I recommend it for any user who has a hodge podge of files scattered everywhere that he/she would like to have better organized.

    You can download GoodSync 9 by Siber Systems free of charge with a 30 day trial before it reverts to a limited utility version (such as a 100 file per day transfer limit). Upgrade to the Pro version for a much more versatile suite of capabilities. GoodSync 9 Pro is available for PCs for $29.95 and Macs for $39.95. One license is required per computer.

    GoodSync provided me with complimentary Professional video editing software free download - Crack Key For U and PC licenses for purpose of this review.

    Источник: https://www.wired.com/2013/02/goodsync-review/

    Sort by: Most RecentMost RecentHighest Rated eset internet security 13.0.24.0 key - Activators Patch Filter: NoneNone5 Stars4 Stars3 Stars2 Stars1 StarsHelpful

    “Gs Richcopy 360 is easier, faster, robust with a low cost than GoodSync.”
    “Quite agree with other comments - "It is very disappointing that an app I purchased with a lifelong license stops working all of a sudden and I'm asked to pay an annual subscription." Some strange ethics at play here - GoodSync can go jump!”
    “I've been using GoodSync for years and am very with its functionality. But it is very disappointing that an app I purchased with a lifelong license stops working all of a sudden and I'm asked to pay an annual subscription.”
    “Needed a solution to back up my NAS to Google Drive and happy to have stumbled upon GoodSync. It has goodsync reviews able to continue syncing despite some interruptions and I am really happy how well it works directly between my NAS and Google Drive. Thanks GoodSync Team. You are one of the things I am grateful for today.”
    “Don't buy! I purchased the software with a lifetime license, and when they released a new version, they removed important functionality from the version I had purchased and now they say the functionality is only in the new version. It wouldn't be a problem if it was a new implementation in the new version, but they removed it, just to start charging for the software.”
    “It does not help me that it automatically synchronizes me if my damn computer turns off every time it synchronizes.”
    “I suggest you all use Synchback from 2brightsparks.com. Excellent product,been with them for years!”
    “Goodsync worked well syncing QNAP NAS to NAS across the internet - until it didn't. Tech support is by email only and not interested in solving the problem. I understand that 95% if support inquires can be answered with RTFM, but they need an escalation process if they want to retain their customers. To add insult to injury, the change to annual subscription has made goodsync a $120/year commitment - way too expensive. A subscription model only works if the price matches the value provided. Goodsync should be. $15/year cost per license, not $40.”
    “I truly hope unscrupulous companies like this pay a hefty price for their greed. Nowhere is it good policy, let alone honest, to sell a product to a customer, only to later attempt extortion for the same product. I paid good money for what was at the time a good product. Now I'm told I must pay every month to continue using it in its best format. For any new folks looking at Goodsync, I strongly suggest you search elsewhere!”
    “Program works on my home system quite well. I have updated to new versions occasionally but now they want money every year. I'll stick with the old version. It works and it's paid for.”
    “I think you should update your license policy and to make it not too much expensive or for once like the similar "GS Richcopy 360" or Exiland Backup or .etc”
    “It works perfectly. I have been looking for a long time for a software to synchronize myself my personnal datas. I lost a lot of time with free softwares and Cloud storage is expansive. GoodSync allows me to do synchronization or to back up in any direction I like. Many options allows me to do it exactly how I want it. It is the tool I use to manage my Westren Digital NAS. Great Product.”
    “The best sync app I've ever used.”
    “We use Goodsync for server os. A 2way sync between our fileserver and Google drive for business. It's not working, the analyze takes hours, and Goodsync support responds very slow. Goodsync support cannot provide avg internet security 2019 crack - Crack Key For U correct settings to make the sync job to Google work correct. According to Google support, Goodsync is not using the Google API. download managers The is problem registered more than 1.5 month ago. Keep this in mind before buying from Siber systems, Goodsync”
    “GoodSync vaut le prix mais c'est trop cher, maintenant j'utilise Gs RichCopy 360 qui est robuste et peu coûteux.”
    “This software used to be good, but slowly they were pushing towards a "software as a service" model including breaking local logins on their GoodSync server. Fortunately I had an older version so I could keep using them. Finally, with v11 they fully stopped selling their software and now only rent it. I guess I'll hold on to my v10 licenses as long as possible until I find something else.”
    “DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT. This is the absolutely the worst file back up or syncing software I've ever encountered. I have paid for two licenses and can't use either. They show up in my account but I can't activate them. When I try it tells me I don't have any available licenses. I contact support and they give me the most convoluted response possible and refuse to call me to help.”
    “Not impressed with the new licencing strategy. Suck you in with a perpetual licence for V10, then as of V11 smash you with an annual subscription based model I see this as a greed strategy. This is a pain for me as I am a personal user with 2 licences (1 windows, 1 Linux) and I cannot now upgrade to V11 or find the downloads for V10 for Linux. I wouldn't recommend this software anymore due to the face it's gone to Annual Licencing.”
    “After many years using GoodSync it is now time to part company - this new FORCED subscription only licensing model for individuals is not for me. A lot of companies are jumping over to subscription licensing, but I refuse to use a subscription based model. I am more than willing to PAY for a license when I want to upgrade. You need to over BOTH models, otherwise you will be cutting off a lot of loyal customers, that like myself will not use subscription. So looks like i will be looking for an alternative solution. a real shame as i application is very good. Whoever thought of exclusively changing the licensing model to subscription only should be fired.”
    “Great backup and synchronisation software. The most reliable that I have discovered. The complex licensing surely could be simplified. Even what should be a simple process of de-registering the software on one computer and re-registering it on another is exhausting.”

    GoodSync Software is rated 4.18 based on 381 reviews

    Источник: https://www.reviews.co.uk/company-reviews/store/goodsync-software
    Rsync Encrypt Tutorial
  • - Setup OpenMediaVault 5.0 beta NAS on Raspberry Pi 4: RPi4 NAS + Configure RSync with x2 shares OMV5

GoodSync Review - File Sync and Backup Tutorial

More videos:

Category Popularity

0-100% (relative to rsync and GoodSync)

Reviews

These are some of the external sources and on-site user reviews we've used to compare rsync and GoodSync

rsync Reviews

11 Best Linux Backup Solutions

Rsync is another feature-rich backup solution available for Linux. It allows for incremental backups, update whole directory tree and file system, both local and remote backups, preserve file permissions, ownership, links, privileges, automated scripts and much more. Rsync is a command-line tool but there GUI or frontends such as Grsync available. Rsync is very popular in.

Source: www.linuxandubuntu.com

25 Outstanding Backup Utilities for Linux Systems in 2020

It also has a graphical user interface called Grsync but one advantage with the rsync is that backups can be automated using scripts and cron jobs when used by experienced System Administrators on the command line.

Source: www.tecmint.com

Seven Must Have Open Source Tools For Backup and Recovery

4.RsyncRsync is used for backing up and synchronising the data. Basically it is used for backing up files, which can be configured to synch across the internet to other hosts. Rsync supports mirroring, backup and fast performance. Link – https://rsync.samba.org/download.html

Source: www.interserver.net

GoodSync Reviews

Review of the File Synchronization Tools

GoodSync (GS) is a simple and reliable software for file backup and file synchronization. It automatically analyzes, synchronizes, and backs up your e-mail, precious family photos, contacts, MP3 songs, financial files, and other important files, such as desktops, laptops, servers, external drives, Windows Mobile devices, as well as WebDAV of users remotely via FTP, etc.

Source: source.raysync.io

8 best Windows 10 file sync software

GoodSync backs up and syncs your files between any device or platform without storing them in the cloud. Thanks to the innovative technology it uses, GoodSync offers reliable bi-directional synchronization for all your files.

Source: windowsreport.com

Social recommendations and mentions

Based on our record, rsync seems to be more popular. It has been mentiond 5 times since March 2021. We are tracking product recommendations and mentions on Reddit, HackerNews and some other platforms. They can help you identify which product is more popular and what people think of it.

rsync mentions (5)

  • What are rsync and failovers?
    Https://rsync.samba.org is not only a file transfer tool, but it can synchronize directories locally or over the network using ssh, stunnel or its own protocol(you'll have to run rsync in daemon mode on one of goodsync reviews hosts for that). It can copy/update files that are missing on the target host and (optionally) it can delete files that have been deleted on the source, but are still present on the target. - Source: Reddit / 3 months ago
  • MySQL shell: the best tool for your logical backups
    Before we can import the data into a local MySQL instance, we need to download the relevant part of the dump to the local machine. Our import script uses rsync with a set of pre-configured --include and --exclude options under the hood to do that. Overall, we can typically download only about 2 GB of data out of the 23 GB dump. - Source: dev.to / 4 months ago
  • Need programmers advice on a complex project. Is this possible?
    Never used it myself, but I am pretty sure you can do this with syncthing. The other possibility that comes to mind is to use rsync and whatever scheduling facility your OS provides. - Source: Reddit / 6 months ago
  • Can't get rsync to ignore .git directories
    [email protected]:~/Downloads/rsync$ rsync --version Rsync version 3.1.3 protocol version 31 Copyright (C) 1996-2018 by Andrew Tridgell, Wayne Davison, and others. Web site: http://rsync.samba.org/ Capabilities: 64-bit files, 64-bit inums, 64-bit timestamps, 64-bit long ints, socketpairs, hardlinks, symlinks, IPv6, batchfiles, inplace, append, ACLs, xattrs, iconv, symtimes, prealloc Rsync comes with. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago
  • Need help with data migration and deduplication
    I have also heard people talking about using other programs that have reduplication built in as a way to accomplish this, most notable rsync and also borg backup. These require a bit more confidence in one's skills than I have at the moment for the task at hand. - Source: Reddit / 7 months ago

GoodSync mentions (0)

We have not tracked any mentions of GoodSync yet. Tracking of GoodSync recommendations started around Mar 2021.

What are some alternatives?

When comparing rsync and GoodSync, you can also consider the following products

Duplicati - Free backup software to store backups online with strong encryption. Works with FTP, SSH, WebDAV, OneDrive, Amazon S3, Google Drive and many others.

FreeFileSync - Download the latest FreeFileSync 10.4. FreeFileSync is a free open source data backup software that helps you synchronize files and folders on Windows, Linux and macOS.

SyncBack - Backup software for the PC: powerful, easy to use solution for backing up and synchronising files on a local/network drive, the cloud, FTP server and more.

Syncthing - Syncthing replaces proprietary sync and cloud services with something open, trustworthy and.

Acronis True Image - Full Image Backup, Cloning & Data Protection for Windows & Mac.

Dropbox - Online Sync and File Sharing

User reviews

Share your experience with using rsync and GoodSync. For example, how are they different and which one is better?

Post a review

NinjaOne provides remote monitoring and management software that combines powerful functionality with a fast, modern UI. Easily remediate IT issues, automate common tasks, and support end-users with powerful IT management tools.

featured

Do not miss the top trending startups with our weekly report!

Источник: https://www.saashub.com/compare-rsync-vs-goodsync
goodsync reviews

Notice: Undefined variable: z_bot in /sites/kadinca.us/antivirus/goodsync-reviews.php on line 107

Notice: Undefined variable: z_empty in /sites/kadinca.us/antivirus/goodsync-reviews.php on line 107

3 Replies to “Goodsync reviews”

  1. В @Jim Sty the HP GuyВ  You have an unusual way of ignoring facts and logic, so I have no problem calling a halt to this conversation. Never did get the names of 5-6 of your "many experts."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *